Game assets and "Laying up treasures in Heaven"

Got a question? We may have some answers!
Forum rules

1) This is a Christian site, respect our beliefs and we will respect yours.

2) This is a family friendly site, no swearing or posting offensive links, pictures, or signatures.

3) Please be respectful of others.

4) Trolls are not welcome and will be dealt with accordingly.

5) No racial comments, jokes or images

6) If you see a dead thread over 6 months old, let it rest in peace

7) No Duplicate posts
Kasey_Dee
Noob
Noob
I am an indie game developer. I'm making a RPG game based in medieval times where the player is a slave whose brother was sold and s/he must go and find him.

I'm using Unity game engine and as an indie game developer, I purchase assets from the asset store as I can't make all these models myself. (I work full-time in an unrelated field and am the family income source.)

Often I feel guilty purchasing assets as the Bible states to "Lay up for yourselves treasures in Heaven". I do wish to live for eternity and not items on earth "where moth and thieves".

I want to use my game dev talents for the glory of God, but I don't want to use that to "justify" purchasing assets instead of giving it to missions (which I try to do, too) or an "excuse" to do game dev which I'm passionate about. Or should I "deny myself" and put my money into missions instead of game assets and tools. I love game development and that's where my "after work" time goes. But I feel guilty about it. Is this my "talent" given by God or ...?

Any thoughts?
ccgr
Site Admin
Site Admin
Are you human?: Yes!
You purchased assets intended to make the game development process easier right? I don't see anything wrong with that. I don't feel bad for not custom coding this site. ;) It's okay to use tools available to you. If you pirated them it would be a different story though. ;) Keep on honoring God with what you can do!
J.K. Riki